Toronto District School Board
Skip to main content

News releases

Introducing the 2019-20 Student Trustees and Student Senate Executives

Thursday, May 30, 2019
Categories: Happenings @ TDSB, Great Things

For the first time, students from across the Toronto District School Board were able to vote online to elect their Student Trustees and Student Senate Executives. Students were also able to learn more about the candidates via online campaign speeches before casting their votes. This new, modern way of electronic voting resulted in more than 4200 votes from across the system, which is about 4000 more than any previous year when the elections were held in-person.

In saying that, we are pleased to announce that the results are in!

Introducing the Student Trustees and Student Senate Executives for the 2019-20 school year:

Student Trustees :
Ivy Deng, Earl Haig SS
Adnan Habib, R. H. King Academy



Elizabeth Lang, Sir Wilfrid Laurier CI



Evan Woo, Marc Garneau CI



Vipushan Raveenthiranathan, SATEC @ W. A. Porter CI


Communications Officer:

Aritra Paul, Danforth CTI


Conference Chair:

Nain Abdi, Sir Wilfrid Laurier CI


Alternative Schools Rep:

Patrick Fox, Avondale Secondary Alternative School


Learning Centre 1 Co-Chairs:

Bilal Bartaai, Marc Garneau CI

Yi Lian, Leaside High School


Learning Centre 1 Secretary/Treasurer:

Jessica Yuan, York Mills CI


Learning Centre 1 Grade 7/8 Representative:



Learning Centre 2 Co-Chairs:

Mona Afshar, Lester B. Pearson ES

Shafiya Khan, Lester B. Pearson ES


Learning Centre 2 Secretary/Treasurer:

Brooke Simons-Vatch, Newtonbrook SS


Learning Centre 2 Grade 7/8 Representative:

Anita Du, Claude Watson School for the Arts


Learning Centre 3 Co-Chairs:

Alisha Aslam, Sir Alexander MacKenzie Senior PS

Zaiboon Azhar, Woburn CI


Learning Centre 3 Secretary/Treasurer:

Evelyn Wang, R. H. King Academy


Learning Centre 3 Grade 7/8 Representative:

Zarah Durrani, Glamorgan Junior PS


Learning Centre 4 Co-Chairs:

Isaiah Shafqat, Earl Grey Senior PS

Arvjola Zogu, Riverdale CI


Learning Centre 4 Secretary/Treasurer:

Sasha Reynolds, Jarvis CI


Learning Centre 4 Grade 7/8 Representative: