John English School is located on Mimico Avenue, east of Royal York Road. The original school, a one-room brick building, opened in 1884 and moved, after a series of renovations and rebuilding, into the former Mimico High School building in 1993. The auditorium, cafeteria, gymnasium, and other specialized areas are shared with the Community School. John English serves over 825 students representing many language groups. John English offers programs in English (Junior Kindergarten to Grade 8), French Immersion (Senior Kindergarten-Grade 8) and Extended French (Grade 4 to 8).