William Burgess Elementary School (GR. JK-05)
Where Inquiring Minds Come to Grow!
William Burgess Public School, originally known as Todmorden New School, was built in 1914, and we recently celebrated our centennial. What started as a 12 room building with 13 educators, has now grown into a wheelchair accessible neighbourhood school with 20 classrooms, 44 staff, serving over 370 students. Legends states that the 1928 addition was built with bricks from the old Don Jail.
We have a vibrant and collegial staff who sincerely believe in, and are committed to our purpose: to serve our students. And, our students in turn are welcoming, kind and curious, open to new people, new ides and new learning.
In addition, the school has a partnership with William Burgess YMCA daycare, housed in the building.